home  photo gallery  profiles  about us  contact us

About Us

We are Queensland's first dedicated sports museum and at present honour 33 Gold Coast Sporting Champions who have reached the highest possible level in their sport whilst a resident of the Gold Coast.

Among the inductees are World 500cc Motorcycle Champion Mick Doohan, cricketer Craig McDermott, rugby league legend Mick Veivers, surf lifesavers Karla Gilbert and Trevor Hendy, swimmer Andrew Baildon, and world surfing champion Wayne 'Rabbit' Bartholomew.

Our Hall of Fame inductee profiles share the hall with an abundant collection of sporting memorabilia including Queensland's only official 'Olympic Room' - a shrine to Gold Coast Olympic achievement, which also houses the Gold Coast's Sydney 2000 Olympic Games community cauldron and relay torch.

Other memorabilia includes an Olympic gold medal from the 1952 Helsinki Olympic Games, official sporting uniforms dating back to the 1930s, and the Gold Coast Bulletin Champions Courtyard.

In the Gold Coast Bulletin Historical Building to the left of the Gold Coast Sporting Hall of Fame, you can engulf yourself in Gold Coast's abundant history.

You can see genuine examples of yesterday's newspaper printing technology, view photos of early Southport, Surfers Paradise, Burleigh Heads and Coolangatta, read about local identities old and new while searching newspaper archives that date back to 1885

Both the Gold Coast Sporting Hall of Fame and the Gold Coast Historical Building strive to protect and promote the sporting heritage and history of the Gold Coast for all to enjoy.

Gold Coast Sporting Hall of Fame Committee

  1. Daphne Pirie - President (Queensland Academy of Sport)
  2. Paul Stevens - Secretary
  3. Paul Eggers - Treasurer (Managing Director, Paul Eggers & Associates)
  4. Roy Miller (Managing Director, Gold Coast Publications Pty Ltd)
  5. Ian Buchanan (General Manager of Operations & Media, Gold Coast National Rugby League)
  6. Greg Norman (Sports Department, The Southport School)
  7. Terry Robertson (Managing Director, Robertson (Consolidated) Pty Ltd)
  8. Geoff Smith (Partner, Bell Legal Group)
  9. Councillor Dawn Crichlow (Gold Coast City Council)
  10. Bruce Flick (Gold Coast City Council)
  11. Wayne Hickson (Managing Director, HicksonMedia)
   | photo gallery   
   | profiles   
   | about us   
   | contact us
Website By www.goldcoastlogin.com.au